Inspiring places: Tent London, London Design Week 2014

Hi All,

I’m sure all of you who are into design managed to visit at least one event organised within The London Design Festival.

As I was very busy at work, I could only do one thing and my choice was Tent London situated in The Old Truman Brewery in East London.

I’m glad I did. It was very hot there (no air-con uff), but it didn’t stop me to hunt for new up-an-coming designers.

There were so many exciting designs but I thought I’ll share with you my top 8. I’ll write about others in the next month or so.

Tent London, LDF14, Textile designers

I love eye-catching textiles, so I was drawn to the following:

  • Emily Humphrey (great design debut; character polka print was my favourite, but I love how she mixes tradition with contemporary trends)
  • Lorna Syson (for the birds)
  • Witch&Watchman (for Amazonia wallpaper and the bespoke lamp)
  • Flock (for promoting young textile designers and colour)

Tent London, LDF14, Inspirations, designers

 

Whilst exploring the collections, I came across two special projects that are worth mentioning here.

The first one is Designing Polska (for personal reasons), and the second one Tokyo Imagine (totally amazed me).

Designing Polska at Tent London, London design Festival 2014, illustrations and posters

Designing Polska (Design in Poland) was carefully prepared to showcase a mix of Polish graphic designers and illustrators. The exhibition was organised by Culture.pl and curated by Olka Osadzinska. In my opinion, it was a great overview of Poland’s finest young talent mixing tradition and modernity.

Designing Polska at Tent London, London design Festival 2014

The exhibition features  works of such artists as: Anna Niemierko, Michał Łojewski, Filip Pągowski, Zupa Grafika, Joanna Gorska and Jerzy Skakun, and Magdalena Lapinska, and many more.

Tokyo Imagine amazed the audience with its creativity and technology. We are talking here interactive design and art, and even augmented and virtual reality.

Tokyo Imagine, Tokyo designers week London 2014, augmented reality, virtual reality

If you want to know more, please check the following: Arart and Dance in the Rain. It does work, and it’s incredible!

Let me know what were your favourite bits at Tent London and The London Design Week.

Signuture1

2 thoughts on “Inspiring places: Tent London, London Design Week 2014

Leave a Reply

