Inspiring places: Warsaw to Berlin part 1

Hello hello,

Those who follow me on Instagram know that I was travelling over Easter, hence the silence on the blog.

I had an amazing trip. I travelled to my beloved Warsaw first to see my mum and spend some quality time with my family and friends.

Then, I took a 5 hour train to Berlin, to introduce S to this incredible city full of art, culture and fun.

I’ll tell you all about it in two stages. Let’s start with Warszawa.

Warsaw, palace of culture in the rain

It was cold and rainy, but I love my city! I personally adore the Palace of Culture and Science, which you’ve seen on my blog before. It looks much better when it’s not raining, don’t you think.

Palac Kultury, Palace of Culture and Science, Warsaw, Warszawa

I was flying with my friend Marta who I’d bumped into at Heathrow. Our flight was delayed for almost 2 hours, but it was nice to spend that time chatting. She kindly gave me a lift to the city centre, so I could meet my other friends Mika and Kaska.

We went to a cool bar called Pies czy suka (Dog or bitch) situated at Szpitalna 8a, in the courtyard. I love their decor allowing costumers to immerse themselves in art and design whilst having delicious tapas (yes, tapas in Warsaw) and a cocktail or two.

Pies czy suka bar in Warsaw, Dog or bitch Warsaw, Warszawa, cool bar

Warsaw is changing so fasts, but I’m glad its old landmarks are getting a revamp now and again.

Hala Mirowska and Plac Grzybowski, Warsaw

Above you can see Hala Mirowska, an architectural pearl, in my opinion, which serves as a modern supermarket. This redbrick marketplace pavilion dates 19th century, and it’s worth visiting.

On the right, there’s Grzybowski Square, which, during the Second World War, was part of the Warsaw Ghetto. After the Warsaw Uprising in 1944, most of this area was destroyed by the Germans. Some of the buildings were rebuilt after the war, and after the recent revamp, the square makes a great impression, don’t you think.

If you are in the area, please pop in to a bookstore/live music venue Pardon, To Tu. Great for people watching and atmosphere.

And last, but not least, Warszawa Wilenska, finally, has got an underground connection to the centre of Warsaw. Hurray! So you can easily get to my favourite part of the city: East Warsaw – Praga district.

Warszawa Wilenska, Metro Warszawa, Orthodox Church, Liceum Wladyslam IV

The building with a clock tower is my impressive high school named in honor of one of the Polish kings, Wladyslaw IV Vasa.

Also, you can see Orthodox Church of St. Mary Magdelene, worth visiting for its breath-taking golden décor.

This is the end of part 1. Part 2 will be devoted to Berlin.

Warsaw to Berlin, train journeys

Hope you enjoyed the tour around Warsaw. Do you fancy visiting?

Signuture1

One thought on “Inspiring places: Warsaw to Berlin part 1

Leave a Reply

