Three things I learnt at Blogtacular 2016

Hi All,

I know I haven’t been writing for a while now, but the upcoming secretgardenhome wedding has taken over all my spare time, so I only Instagram to keep my blogging spirit alive.

However, I somehow managed to finally attend a Blogtacular event last weekend, and no regrets there.

I had such an amazing time and left with tons of inspiration for the upcoming months. I’ve been thinking of changing this blog into something a bit more art and culture focused, and now I’ve got confidence to do it. Probably after the wedding this summer, but I’m determined to do it.

Three things I learnt last weekend are:

The Blogging community is still alive and kicking

I went for an alternative Blogtacular Photowalk North organised by lovely Carie and met so many like-minded ladies, who are not only passionate about craft, creative arts and colour like me, but who are also really nice people whose company I truly enjoyed.

Blogtacular photowalk north

It was a great way to meet new people before the conference the next day. Special thanks to Elena who hung out with me for most of the day. She’s a very talented illustrator, so please check her work here.

Also, I finally met one of the fellow bloggers Mary from The Happy Flat. I’ve been a fan for a long time, but never met her before, so thanks to Blogtacular we finally got to know each other. So exciting!

Blogtacular 2016

Embracing ‘wabi sabi’ will save your sanity

The keynote speaker was Lisa Congdon, an artist, illustrator and author. Her presentation resonated with me greatly, and I learnt that it’s never too late to embrace your creative side and that we are continuously evolving and learning.

Blogtacular Lisa Congdon courtesy of Mollie Makes

My favourite advice from her was about learning how to let go and live according to ‘wabi sabi’ – a Japanese way of living embracing imperfections and the temporary. Nothing lasts forever and we can find beauty and happiness in every object and moment regardless of its appearance.

Parla come mangi

Laura Jane Williams’s advice about writing was invaluable. My favourite was ‘parla come mangi’, in my favourite language Italian, which can be translated as ‘speak the way you eat’. Very true, don’t you think?

Blogtacular Laura Jane Williams courtesy of Molly makes

In order to be an authentic writer, you need to be genuine with yourself and your readers will be more likely to relate to your stories. She also said: ‘engage the reader in their own imagination’, and I love this quote. Not sure who said it in the first place, but it’s a good mantra for any aspiring writer.

Blogtacular 2016
Blogtacular 2016

Overall, Blogtacular was a fantastic experience, so thank you to all who made it happen, especially to a charismatic and full of energy Kat and her team.

Signuture1

 

 

Photo credit: secretgardenhome, Mollie Makes, Space for Butterflies and Design Curator.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Three things I learnt at Blogtacular 2016

  1. Hey!

    It looks like you had a great time 🙂

    I’m loving your blog (followed!) but I would also like to invite you to submit a short piece to my own. I think your perspective and style of writing would be a perfect piece for my project.

    It’d also be a great way to get your blog/writing out there.

    Please feel free to email me (jennifer@youngandtwenty) with more questions, or take a look at the ‘BEING Young & Twenty’ page on my blog.

    I hope I’ll hear from you 🙂

    Jennifer

    youngandtwenty.com

Leave a Reply

